IIT Kanpur

This workshop consists of a school followed by a symposium in the broad fields of mechanics and applied mathematics. This constitutes another step towards expanding the scope IIT Kanpur's engagement with TEQIP institutes in both research and pedagogy.

School: The school on mechanics and applied mathematics aims will offer short refreshers in (a) Engineering Mathematics, (b) Dynamics (c) Fluid mechanics, and (d) Solid mechanics. This will be a forum for educators who wish to discuss teaching methodologies and/or expand their pedagogical goals to meet the ever increasing demands of technical education. It will also help students who intend to participate in the symposium to follow and/or pursue higher studies in mechanics.

Symposium: The symposium collects some of the best researchers from India and abroad in the broad fields of dynamics and continuum (fluid and solid) mechanics. It also serves as a platform where researchers from TEQIP institutes can engage and present their own work.


School: July 19 - 23, 2014
Enviornmental Science Building, IIT Kanpur

Symposium: July 23 - 25, 2014
Outreach Auditorium, IIT Kanpur

Tentative list of invited speakers for symposium and observers

Fluid Mechanics:

  • Prof. Ganesh Subramanian, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Scientific Research
  • Prof. John Hinch, University of Cambridge
  • Prof. Venkataraman Runkana, Tata Research Development and Design Centre
  • Prof. Shivasubramanian Gopalkrishnan, IIT Bombay
  • Prof. Debopam Das, IIT Kanpur
  • Prof. Prabhu Nott, IISc Bangalore

Solid Mechanics:

  • Prof. C S Jog, IISc Bangalore
  • Prof. Baidurya Bhattacharyya, IIT Kharagpur
  • Prof. Srikanth Vedantam, IIT Madras
  • Prof. Tanmay Bhandakkar, IIT Bombay
  • Prof. Vikranth Racherla, IIT Kharagpur


  • Prof. Shankar Narasimhan, IIT Madras
  • Prof. S. E. Talole, Defence Institute, Pune
  • Prof. Manoj Srinivasan, Ohio State University
  • Prof. Gopal Jee, ISRO


  1. Prof. Vinayak Eswaran, IIT Hyderabad
  2. Prof. Sreenivas Veervalli, IIT Delhi
  3. Prof. Shivshambhu Mahesh, IIT Madras
  4. Prof. Brijesh Eshpuniyani, BHU