TEQIP Summer Internship 2014

May 15 - July 15, 2014

In order to encourage research collaborations and student exchange with the colleges in Quality Circle assigned to IIT Kanpur, Knowledge Incubation for TEQIP is starting a Summer Internship and Visiting Researcher program for students and faculty members of these colleges. This program is being offered in the department of Mechanical engineering, Applied Mechanics, Civil Engineering, Chemical engineering, Material sciences/Metallurgy and Computer Science and engineering at IIT Kanpur. For summer internship 10 students will be selected and 10 faculty members will be invited for the visiting researcher program for a period of 6 to 8 weeks (tentatively from 15th May to 15th July) at IIT Kanpur. Selected faculty members and students will receive honorarium. Travel, food and lodging expenses will be covered by TEQIP.

How to apply

For Faculties:

Faculties can directly contact faculty members in the department of Mechanical engineering, Civil Engineering, Chemical engineering, Material Sciences and Computer Science and engineering at IIT Kanpur regarding the Visiting researcher program. (Deadline for application: 30th April)

For Students:

Undergraduate (2nd year onwards) and Post Graduate students can apply in the departments of Mechanical, Civil, Aerospace, Materials Science and Engineering, Chemical engineering and Computer Science and Engineering.

Students are requested to first decide on the department and faculty under whom they want to carry out their internship by browsing the department website. They can then contact TEQIP office at IITK at teqip.iitk@gmail.com with details of their preferred department, area of work and faculty member. The TEQIP office will process their application for the summer internship and inform them if selected. The students should not directly approach the faculty members. (Deadline for application: 24th April)

List of selected faculty members for summer internship :

Sr.No. Faculty Name Institute Research topic Worked with
1. Dr. K.K Dubey University Institute of Engineering and Technology (UIET),
MDU, Rohtak
Process development for Fructo-oligosaccharides (FOS) production from Aspergillus niger at shake flask level Dr. P.K. Bhattacharya, IIT Kanpur
2. Dr. Avinash Shukla IFTM University, Moradabad Topology optimization Dr. Anupam Saxena, IIT Kanpur
3. Dr. Deepak Singh Bisht IFTM University, Moradabad Validation of Three Point Bending Test Dr. P. Venkitanarayanan, IIT Kanpur
4. Dr. Prabhakar Bhandari IFTM University, Moradabad Infrared Thermography Dr. Pradipta Kumar Panigrahi, IIT Kanpur
5. Dr. Nagendra Reddy NIT Kurukshetra Design of Statically Balanced Contact-aided Compliant Mechanisms Prof. Anupam Saxena, IIT Kanpur
6. Dr. N.K Singh NIT Kurukshetra Usefulness of IB method in simulating vortex generators Prof. Subrata Sarkar, IIT Kanpur

List of selected Students for summer internship :

S.No. Student Name Institute Internship Subject Worked under
1. Abhinav Singh Madan Mohan Malaviya University of Technology Study of Mould Filling and Solidification in Microcastings Dr. Arvind Kumar
2. Abir Roy MNNIT, Allahabad Constrained Groove Pressing Dr. Shashank Shekhar
3. Mr. Deepak Kumar IFTM, Moradabad Relation between water absorption and Bitumen absorption of aggregates Dr. Animesh Das
4. Harmeet Grehwal GB Panth Engineering College, Pauri Garhwal Aakash Tablet App Development Dr. T.V Prabhakar
5. Jaikishan Damani MANIT, Bhopal Investigating the use of construction and demolition waste (CDW) in pavement bases and sub-bases – A pilot study Dr. Shyam Nair
6. Nandni Sharma PEC University of Technology, Chandigarh Structural and dielectric properties of pure and doped BiFeO3 Dr. Ashish Garg
7. Parnika Mishra UIET, Panjab University, Chandigarh Testing the Energy of Random Signals in a Known Subspace Prof. A.K. Chaturvedi
8. Paritosh Agrawal UIET, Panjab University, Chandigarh Testing the Energy of Random Signals in a Known Subspace Prof. A.K. Chaturvedi
9. Sannidhya Kumar Ghosh Jadavpur University, Kolkata, India Efficient Design of Fluid Viscous Dampers for Seismic Vulnerability Mitigation of Structures Dr. Samit Ray Chaudhuri
10. Soumya Varma Maulana Azad National Institute of Technology, Bhopal Study of Corrosion Behavior of Mg AE-42 in 3.5 wt% NaCl and 0.5N NaOH Solutions Dr. Kallol Mondal
11. Vinay Jain UICET, Punjab University Study of various characterization techniques Dr. R.K Gupta
12. Avijeet Mukherjee IIEST, Shibpur Difference in Mechanical Property and Micro structure after deform in High Strain Rate and Slow Strain Rate Dr. Kallol Mondal