A Short Course
Combustion: Fundamental and Applications

November 16 - November 26, 2016

Organized by

Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur

Department of Aerospace Engineering and Knowledge Incubation for TEQIP

Sponsored by


Course Overview

Combustion is still the world's most important and most widely used energy conversion technology. Potential environmental damage and limited resources of fossil fuels require more intensive efforts to better understand the underlying combustion processes. The fundamental knowledge of combustion is expected to improve the design of the industrial combustion systems by enhancing the flame stability, improving the combustion efficiency, and reduction in pollutant formation. The short course is expected to cover fundamental understanding of this multi-scale, multi-physics problem, i.e. combustion and their potential applications and challenges in the development of modern combustor systems for the transportation, power-generation and other industrial applications.

International Faculty

Prof. Suresh Aggarwal is a Professor and Director of Flow and Combustion Simula-tion Laboratory at University of Illinois, Chicago, USA. His research interests in-clude theory, simulations and experiments on laminar and turbulent combustion, emission, spray combustion and combus-tion instabilities.

Course Details

The proposed course will tentatively cover the following topics:
1. Thermochemistry: Thermodynamics of a Reacting Mixtures 2. Chemical Kinetics and Reaction Mechanisms 3. Governing Equations for Chemically Reacting Flows 4. Simplified Reacting Systems 5. Laminar Premixed Flames 6. Laminar Non-Premixed (Diffusion) Flames 7. Spray Combustion


Prof. Abhijit Kushari

is a professor of Aero-space Engineering at Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur. His research interests are rocket and gas turbine propulsion, instrumentation in combustion and fluid mechanics, liquid atomization and liquid combustion, active flow control, combus-tion instability, experimental fluid me-chanics, high speed flows.

E-mail: akushari@iitk.ac.in       Website: www.iitk.ac.in/aero/faculty/akushari

Research Interests:
Rocket and Gas turbine Propulsion, Combustion, Experimental Fluid Mechanics and Flow Con-trol, Liquid atomization, Fire Dynamics and Suppression
Dr. Ashoke De

is an associate professor of Aerospace Engineering at Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur. His research inter-ests are CFD, turbulent combustion, turbu-lent flows in gas turbines, hydrogen com-bustion, stochastic PDF based combustion modeling, high speed aerodynamics, high performance computing.

E-mail: ashoke@iitk.ac.in       Website: http://home.iitk.ac.in/~ashoke

Research Interests:
Modeling of turbulent premixed and non-premixed combustion, Advanced turbulent combus-tion modeling: Flamelet, CMC, and PDF method, Soot modeling in Hydrocarbon fuel, Combustion instabilities, MILD combustion, Hydrogen Combustion, Simulation of turbulent flows using RANS, Hybrid RANS/LES, LES and DNS, High speed Aerodynamics, Drag reduction, Compres-sor Cascade Performance, Fluid-Structure Interaction, Lattice Boltzmann Modeling.

selected participants

Sr. No. Name Institute
Dr. Shah Shahood Alam Aligarh Muslim University
Dr. Pankaj Kumar Gupta Chattrapati Shivaji Institute of Technology, Durg
Dr. Nirmal Kant Singh National Institute of Technology Kurukshetra, Haryana
Dr. R. Arul Prakash Kumar Guru College of Technology, Coimbatore
Gaurav Bhaskarrao More Kavi Kulguru Insititute of Technology & Science, Nagpur
Chordiya Jayesh Subhash NIT Jamshedpur
Dhananjay Singh Yadav MNNIT, Allahabad
Manoj Kumar C V Anna University
M. Kavin Robert Anna University
Velayutham T GTRE, Bangalore
Pankaj Kumar GTRE, Bangalore
Gopala Krishnan Self-Employed
Dr. L. Kumararaja Pondicherry Engg. College
Dr. Vishal Saxena FET MJP Rohilkhand University
Dr. Sarvesh Sahai FET MJP Rohilkhand University
Tank Dhavalkumar Ratansinh NIT Calicut
Valera Hardikkumar NIT Jalandhar
Dr. A S Krishnan Coimbatore Institute of Technology
Dr. Sanaur Rehman Aligarh Muslim University
Dr. Abdullah Yousuf Usmani Aligarh Muslim University
Ganesh Singh Yadav BIET, Jhansi
Dr. K. Ramesh Government College of Technology Coimbatore
Dr. Sarbjot Singh Sandhu National Institute of Technology, Jalandhar

delivered presentations